Failure add 'Add-PSSnapin Pscx'

Topics: User Forum
Jan 16, 2007 at 9:48 PM
I'm also new to powershell, I'm sure this is something stupid and easy... but I'm getting the following issue that seems to be related to the script signing:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PS C:\Documents and Settings\alenards> Add-PSSnapin Pscx
Add-PSSnapin : Windows PowerShell snap-in "Pscx" is loaded with the following warnings: Error loading the extended type data file:
Pscx, C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.Types.ps1xml : File skipped because of validation exception: "File C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.Types.ps1xml cannot be loaded because the execution of scripts is disabled on this system. Please see "get-help about_signing" for more details.".
There were errors in loading the format data file:
Pscx, C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.Format.ps1xml : File skipped because of validation exception: "File C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.Format.ps1xml cannot be loaded because the execution of scripts is disabled on this system. Please see "get-help about_signing" for more details.".
At line:1 char:13
+ Add-PSSnapin <<<< Pscx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
blindly running the command a second time gets the following:
PS C:\Documents and Settings\alenards> Add-PSSnapin Pscx
Add-PSSnapin : Cannot add Windows PowerShell snap-in Pscx because it is already added. Verify the name of the snap-in and try again.
At line:1 char:13
+ Add-PSSnapin <<<< Pscx
Jan 16, 2007 at 11:07 PM
I figured it out - I had the script execution policy set to the default of "Restricted" and changing it to RemoteSigned allowed the snap-in to be added without error.

Thanks for the extensions...

Coordinator
Jan 17, 2007 at 6:00 AM