Unable to get installer types...

Topics: User Forum
Feb 8, 2007 at 11:17 AM
I'm a Newbie to PowerShell (also end user) and want to add some cmdlets.
I'm getting an error installing "PowerShellCx1.0Setup.msi" on Win XP:

"Unable to get installer types in the C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.dll assembly. -> Unable to load one or more of the requested types. Retrieve the LoaderExceptions property for more information."

I've received the same above message on two separate machines running
Windows XP pro SP2, Does anyone know what this problem could be ??
Thanks,
robertt7A8
Developer
Feb 8, 2007 at 12:51 PM
Can you verify whether the pscx.dll exists in that directory? If so, try to run the following command (from powershell)

& $Env:SystemRoot\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\InstallUtil.exe "C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.dll"
Feb 9, 2007 at 7:34 PM
When installing "PowerShellCx1.0Setup.msi" the installation proceeds, 'til a dialog box reads "Unable to get installer types..." when I click OK, the installer reverses and removes the failed installation.
I saved the files that were installed (before the removal) and copied them back again to the "C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions" directory & ran the above command from powershell, (added) > log.txt"
Here is the output:

Microsoft (R) .NET Framework Installation utility Version 2.0.50727.42
Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

Running a transacted installation.

Beginning the Install phase of the installation.
See the contents of the log file for the C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.dll assembly's progress.
The file is located at C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.InstallLog.
Installing assembly 'C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.dll'.
Affected parameters are:
logtoconsole =
assemblypath = C:\Program Files\PowerShell Community Extensions\Pscx.dll