Building from source

Topics: Developer Forum
Oct 20, 2011 at 5:01 PM

Hi,

I just downloaded the source and compiled it (using VS 2010).  Then I copied the Debug folder to my Modules directory and named it Pscx.  When I try to load the module I get the usual signing errors.  Even when I set the execution policy to unrestricted, I still get a large number of dialogs from PS that I need to click on.  Obviously, this is not a viable development setup.  How do you guys do it?  (Btw, I am a relative newbie to PS.)

Thanks.

Coordinator
Oct 20, 2011 at 6:33 PM

The PSCX developers usually don't download the source, we "get" it via the TFS Team Explorer plugin for Visual Studio 2010 (or we're using a VS 2010 SKU that has it built-in).  Since you downloaded the source, you may need to unblock all the files.  There's an Unblock-File command in PSCX that will do that. So you may need to bootstrap by extracting the PSCX ZIP to your modules folder (don't forget to use Windows Explorer -> Properties to Unblock the ZIP before extracting any files from it).

Oct 21, 2011 at 3:22 AM

Thanks Keith.  I have now checked out Trunk (via subversion) and I get an error from the help project:

------ Build started: Project: PscxHelp, Configuration: Debug Any CPU ------
  File C:\Stuff\PowerShellCommunityExtensions\Src\PscxHelp\Scripts\GeneratePscxHelpXml.ps1 cannot be loaded because the execution of scripts is disabled on this system. Please see "get-help about_signing" for more details.
  At line:1 char:34
  + .\Scripts\GeneratePscxHelpXml.ps1 <<<<  .\Output\ C:\Stuff\PowerShellCommunityExtensions\Src\PscxHelp\Help Debug
      + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [], PSSecurityException
      + FullyQualifiedErrorId : RuntimeException