first impression--screen full of errors upon install

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
May 27, 2007 at 5:49 PM
Edited May 27, 2007 at 5:51 PM
Hi, I'm a relative powershell newbie but I heard good things about PSCX so thought I'd check it out. I followed the recommendation of the installer and created the sample profile. When I next tried running PS, I get a screen full of errors like this:

Update-FormatData : Cannot find path 'D:\FormatData\FileSystem.ps1xml' because
it does not exist.
At D:\Documents and Settings\Hal\My Documents\WindowsPowerShell\profile.ps1:103
char:19

I've tried it on two computers and both exhibit the same flaw. So--two questions for you guys:

1. How do I fix this? I bet it's something simple, but I'm at the bottom end of the learning curve here and it might take me a while to figure it out.

2. Is this a known issue and will it be fixed in the next point release? Fairly important bug I'd say.

P.S. I did try searching but didn't find much.

Full error output:

Update-FormatData : Cannot find path 'D:\FormatData\FileSystem.ps1xml' because it does not exist.
At D:\Documents and Settings\Hal\My Documents\WindowsPowerShell\profile.ps1:103 char:19
+ Update-FormatData <<<< -PrependPath "$Env:PscxHome\FormatData\FileSystem.ps1xml"
Update-FormatData : Cannot find path 'D:\FormatData\Reflection.ps1xml' because it does not exist.
At D:\Documents and Settings\Hal\My Documents\WindowsPowerShell\profile.ps1:104 char:19
+ Update-FormatData <<<< -PrependPath "$Env:PscxHome\FormatData\Reflection.ps1xml"
Join-Path : Cannot bind argument to parameter 'Path' because it is null.
At D:\Documents and Settings\Hal\My Documents\WindowsPowerShell\profile.ps1:137 char:25
+ Push-Location (Join-Path <<<< $Env:PscxHome 'Profile')
The term '.\TabExpansion.ps1' is not recognized as a cmdlet, function, operable program, or script file. Verify the ter
m and try again.
At D:\Documents and Settings\Hal\My Documents\WindowsPowerShell\profile.ps1:138 char:2